“Thank a Water Professional” Day!

March 12, 2014 is Georgia’s

“Thank a Water Professional” Day!

Today – March 12, 2014 – has been designated as “Thank a Water Professional” Day by the Georgia General Assembly in honor  of the 50th Anniversary of the Georgia Water Quality Control Act and the contributions Georgia’s water professionals make every day in the care and improvement of the state’s water resources.  The resolution also commends the Georgia Association of Water Professionals (GAWP) and the Georgia Rural Water Association (GRWA).

At Dalton Utilities, our “water professionals” work in the following areas of service: water treatment & distribution, wastewater collection & treatment and stormwater management.  Employees in each of these service areas hold professional certifications from the State of Georgia and are required to participate in training every year to stay current.  For instance, our water/wastewater operators have three levels of certification with Class One being the highest. Of Dalton Utilities’ 45 water and wastewater operators, 35 hold Class One certifications, one holds a Class Two certification, and six hold Class Three certifications.  Three new employees are in the process of becoming certified.

At Dalton Utilities, our many water, wastewater and stormwater professionals provide service to our customers 24 hours a day – seven days a week.  As stated in our Guiding Principles, “we will recognize our employees as our greatest asset and make their safety Priority One.” These employees work tirelessly to provide our customers with clean drinking water, manage wastewater and stormwater and protect our natural resources. Their dedication is shown through the numerous recognition and awards we have received for our water, wastewater and stormwater operations:

GAWP (Georgia Association of Water Professionals) Platinum Award for 15 consecutive years of excellence in plant operations for all Dalton Utilities’ water treatment plants (1999-2013)

GAWP Platinum Award (1999-2008) and Gold Award (2010 – 2013) for excellence in plant operations for all Dalton Utilities’ wastewater treatment plants and Land Application System

GAWP Water Distribution System of the Year (2004, 2006, 2008)

GAWP Wastewater Collection System of the Year (2004 & 2006)

GAWP Water Treatment Plant of the Year (2003, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2010 & 2012)

GAWP Wastewater Treatment Plant of the Year (2005, 2006, 2008, 2010,2011, 2012* & 2013) * two awards in same year

GAWP Top Op Award – Wastewater (2004)

GAWP Top Op Award – Water (2007, 2008, 2009, 2010 & 2011)

GAWP Best Consumer Confidence Report (2006, 2008 & 2010)

GAWP Public Education Award (2008)

GAWP Laboratory Quality Assurance at a Drinking Water Laboratory (2005 & 2007)

GAWP Laboratory Quality Assurance at Municipal Wastewater Laboratory (2006)

GAWP Drinking Water Taste Test Winner – (2006, 2008, 2010, 2011, 2012 & 2013)

GAWP Volunteer Service Award – Bronze Level (2008 & 2009)

GAWP Ira C. Kelley Laboratory Excellence Award – David White (2013)

So a huge THANKS to all those professionals who make our community work by providing the water, wastewater and stormwater services needed by local residents and businesses each day!

Watershed Management:

Leslie Rush

Don Johnson

Ben Kinsey

Charlie Morrow

Steve Bratton



Allen Peters

Alicia Marvin

Judy Pruitt

Chris Bollwerk

Gary Poff

TJ Lawson

Jamie Langley

Brandon Jones


David Oxford

Jeremy Peden

Brian Harrison

Jason Walker

Russell Witherow

Caleb Martin

Phillip Pfeifer

Seth Lassitter


David White

Brian Mashburn

Steve Bailey

Lem Henderson

Robert Ledford

Shon Akins

Landau Kitchens

Tim Witt

Water Plants:

Ed Stanley

Bruce Blackwell

Mike King

Greg Collins

Jason Garland

Keith Collins

Terry Dilbeck

Dan Findlay

Rob Campbell

Jamie Cox

Clarence Dodson

Rocky Wallingford

Dale Stanley

Gene Peters

Scott Moody

Garry Oliver

Micha Cartledge

Matt Warner          

Water Distribution:

Michael Miracle

Daniel Cooper

Jeff Cowles

William England

Dewayne Fisher

Hunter Hall

Freddie Kennett

Frank Kovach

Thomas Lunsford

Kyle Massengill

Jonathan McIntosh

Todd Miller

David Condra

Tim Richards

Wastewater Plants:

Jim Shafer

Kenny Stokes

Jeff McNeeley

Ryan Andrews

Jerry Tackett

Eric Walker

Paul Dodson

Danny Mathis

Leroy Terry

Jeff Lowrance

Joe Tankersley

Jeff Vineyard

John Burgess

Terry Moody

Jonathan Raburn

Loren Herod

Colby Bryant           

Zerek Gill

Chad Bartlett

Wesley Harp

Wastewater Collection:

Gary Hill

Chad Crowe

Brandon Harrison

Tobie Burke

Derrick Johnson

James Nelms

Eric Ridley

Josh Roberts

Land Application System:

Kevin Young

Rick Bolton

Bo Carnes

Chris Coker

Bobby Defore

Chris Dodson

David Green

Mark Hall

Jeremy Locke

Bruce Parrott

Jeremy Stafford

Cody Bain

Josh McCurdy

Solids Handling:

Jerome Akins

Chris Owens

Ron King

Justin Porter

Ezekiel Nelson

Ken Helton

Chad Roberts

Johnny Gray

Service Crew:

Buddy Ash

Scott Edwards

Sandy Fuller

Shannon Hammontree

Darrel Hulett

Tim Thrasher

For more information about our water, wastewater and stormwater operations:  

dutil.com & du-sw.com